Japanese Patterns

yasuko5.jpg

I’m finally back! And in a completely different city. I’ve moved away from Aberdeen and started a new job in the website industry all fun and games – here’s hoping it stays that way!

Today I bring you something completely different, something I would probably never have looked twice at – Japanese art. Now I know it’s a massive culture of traditional printing techniques and intricate details to tell stories but I just never looked at it and went WOW! But now I have thanks to good old Patternbank. (Take a look at their stuff here you won’t be disappointed)

yasuko3

The prints that I came across are from artist Yasuko Aoyama, which are fun fabulously colourful prints that feature nature and wildlife. He is a print maker based in Sendai, Japan and you can view his works here.

yasuko4

yasuko6

The other prints are from world renowned Yoshitoshi who used ukiyo-e woodblock printing and painting. I’ve taken some images from “100 Views of the Moon” but you can find all his other works here.

yasuko9

yoshitoshi2

yoshitoshi4

Thanks for reading!

T x

Leave a comment...

